To foster the development of Québec fintech firms, we participated in the creation of an international network of regulators committed to working together to support financial innovation in their respective markets.

The Global Financial Innovation Network

The Global Financial Innovation Network (GFIN) is an international network of financial regulators committed to working together to support financial innovation of benefit to consumers in the regulators’ respective jurisdictions.

One of the GFIN’s objectives is to give fintech firms the opportunity to simultaneously trial and scale their innovative products, services or business models in multiple jurisdictions.

Pilot phase

On January 31, 2019, the GFIN invited applications from firms interested in being part of the first cohort to test their financial innovations in international markets. The firms will benefit from the opportunity to test and compete in the regulated space, and their tests will help inform the future work of the GFIN.

Pilot tests will run for at least six months and are expected to begin in the spring of 2019.

How to participate

Fintech firms wishing to participate in this pilot phase should:

  • review the list of GFIN members currently participating in cross-border trials;
  • submit an application to each jurisdiction in which they would like to test before the February 28, 2019 deadline.

GFIN members

Members participating in cross-border trials and main contact person

Coordination group

  • Astana Financial Services Authority (AFSA) - Kazakhstan
  • Australian Securities & Investments Commission (ASIC) - Australia
  • Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) - Québec, Canada
  • Central Bank of Bahrain (CBB) - Bahreïn
  • Dubai Financial Services Authority (DFSA) - É.A.U.
  • Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) - United Kingdom
  • Guernsey Financial Services Commission (GFSC) - Guernesey
  • Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) - Hong Kong
  • Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission (HKSFC) - Hong Kong
  • Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) - Singapour


  • Alberta Securities Commission (ASC) - Alberta, Canada
  • Bermuda Monetary Authority (BMA) - Bermuda
  • British Columbia Securities Commission (BCSC) - British Columbia, Canada
  • Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Ontario (CVMO) - Ontario, Canada
  • Centrale Bank van Curaçao and Sint Maarten - Curaçao and Sint Maarten
  • Central Bank of Eswatini - Eswatini (Swaziland)
  • Magyar Nemzeti Bank (Central Bank of Hungary) - Hungaria
  • Isle of Man Financial Services Authority - Isle of Man
  • Israel Securities Authority (ISA) - Israel
  • Jersey Financial Services Commission (JFSC) - Jersey
  • Capital Markets Authority (CMA, Kenya) - Kenya
  • Bank of Lithuania - Lithuania
  • South African Reserve Bank (SARB) - South Africa
  • Abu Dhabi Global Market (ADGM) - UAE


  • Qianhai Financial Authority - China
  • Consultative Group to Assist the Poor (CGAP) - Global
  • International Monetary Fund (IMF) - Global
  • World Bank Group - Global