CSA renews terms of Chair and Vice-Chair

CSA Securities

Montréal – At the latest meeting of the members of the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA), held in Toronto on March 28 and 29, 2007, the term of CSA Chair Jean St-Gelais, President and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), was renewed for two years. Mr. St-Gelais was appointed CSA Chair in April 2005.

“I am delighted to be able to assume this role for another two years and look forward to further co-operation with my colleagues from other jurisdictions to further harmonize and improve the regulation of capital markets,” said Mr. St-Gelais.

The term of CSA Vice-Chair Don Murray, Chair of the Manitoba Securities Commission, was also renewed for two years. “We will continue to apply the CSA’s strategic principles and pursue our efforts toward the implementation of a more harmonized and streamlined securities regime in Canada,” noted Mr. Murray.

The CSA, the council of securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, coordinate and harmonize regulation for the Canadian capital markets. Their mandate is to protect investors from unfair or fraudulent practices through regulation of the securities industry. Part of this protection is educating investors about the risk, responsibilities and rewards of investing.

— 30 —


CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Frédéric Alberro

514 940-2176

Alberta Securities Commission

Tamera Van Brunt

403 297-2664

British Columbia Securities Commission

Andrew Poon 

604 899-6880

Manitoba Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham

204 945-4733

New Brunswick Securities Commission

Jane Gillies

506 643-7745

Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Nicholas A. Pittas

902 424-6859

Ontario Securities Commission

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington

416 593-2361

Prince Edward Island Office of the Attorney General

Marc Gallant

902 368-4552

Saskatchewan Financial Service Commission

Barbara Shourounis

306 787-5842

Securities Registry, Northwest Territories

Donald MacDougall

867 920-8984

Yukon Securities Registry

Bette Boyd

867 667-5225