CSA Announces Cyber Security Roundtable

Securities CSA

Montréal – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) announced today that it will hold a roundtable to discuss issues related to cyber security and opportunities for greater collaboration, communication and coordination in the event of a cyber security incident. The roundtable follows the publication of CSA Staff Notice 11-332 Cyber Security, which identifies related issues and opportunities.

“Structured as a hands-on discussion based on scenarios, this event is designed to explore how participants, individually and as a group, would respond in the event of a cyber incident with a focus on the information that could be shared among market participants, regulatory bodies and stakeholders,” said Louis Morisset, Chair of the CSA and President and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers.

Market participants (including marketplaces, clearing agencies, registrants and reporting issuers), regulatory bodies and cyber security experts wishing to participate in this roundtable are asked to send an email by December 16, 2016 with full contact details, in which they will briefly describe their role in the market and the value they anticipate adding to the discussion, to [email protected] with subject “Cyber-security Roundtable.” As space is limited, roundtable participants will be selected to ensure a diverse representation of roles and views in the market, and appropriate regional representation.

The CSA roundtable will take place Monday, February 27, 2017 on the 22nd floor of the Ontario Securities Commission’s offices, located at 20 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario.

The CSA expects to issue a notice in January 2017 with additional details, including the final agenda of this roundtable.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For more information:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Sylvain Théberge


Alberta Securities Commission

Nicole Tuncay


British Columbia Securities Commission

Alison Walker


Financial and Consumer Affairs, Saskatchewan

Shannon McMillan


Financial and Consumer Services Commission, New Brunswick

Andrew Nicholson


Manitoba Securities Commission

Jason (Jay) Booth


Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Jane Anderson


Nunavut Securities Office

Jeff Mason


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, Newfoundland and Labrador

John O'Brien


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, Northwest Territories

Tom Hall


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, P.E.I.

Janice Callbeck


Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities

Rhonda Horte


Ontario Securities Commission

Kristen Rose