Canadian Securities Regulators support temporary order issued by OSC prohibiting short selling

CSA Securities

Toronto – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) indicated support today related to the issuance of a Temporary Order by the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) prohibiting short selling of securities of certain financial sector issuers that are listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) and are also interlisted in the United States (with the exception of one issuer whose shares are interchangeable).

“The CSA is supportive of the action taken by the OSC today,” said Jean St-Gelais, Chair of the CSA and President & Chief Executive Officer of the Autorité des marchés financiers (Québec). “Other jurisdictions in the CSA will be taking similar action today, or in the coming days.”

The CSA will also monitor trading in securities of other Canadian financial issuers and take action if necessary.

The OSC took the action in its capacity as lead regulator of the TSX. The action taken by the OSC today supports the action taken by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission earlier today. The U.K. Financial Services Authority took similar action this week.

The issuers affected are: Aberdeen Asia-Pacific Income Investment Company Ltd., Bank of Montreal, The Bank of Nova Scotia, Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited, Kingsway Financial Services Inc., Manulife Financial Corporation, Quest Capital Corp., Royal Bank of Canada, Sun Life Financial Inc., Thomas Weisel Partners Group Inc., The Toronto-Dominion Bank, and Merrill Lynch & Co., Canada Ltd.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

— 30 —

For more information:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Sylvain Théberge

514 940-2176

Alberta Securities Commission

Mark Dickey

403 297-4481

British Columbia Securities Commission

Andrew Poon 

604 899-6880

Financial Services Regulation Division, Newfoundland and Labrador

Doug Connolly

709 729-2594

Manitoba Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham

204 945-4733

New Brunswick Securities Commission

Wendy Connors-Beckett

506 643-7745

Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Natalie MacLellan

902 424-8586

Nunavut Securities Registry

Louis Arki

867 975-6587

Ontario Securities Commission

Laurie Gillett

416 595-8913

Prince Edward Island, Office of the Attorney General

Marc Gallant

902 368-4552

Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

Barbara Shourounis

306 787-5842

Securities Registry, Northwest Territories

Donn MacDougall

867 920-8984

Yukon Securities Registry

Fred Pretorius

867 667-5225