Canadian securities regulators release report on 2013-2016 achievements

Securities CSA

Montréal - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today released a report on the work achieved under its three-year Business Plan for the period of April 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.

The report outlines the accomplishments of CSA Members during this period in the areas of:

  • retail investor protection,
  • capital raising by small and medium sized enterprises and exempt market initiatives,
  • shareholder democracy and protection,
  • market regulation,
  • enforcement effectiveness, and
  • innformation technology.

In June 2013, CSA Members embarked on an ambitious three-year plan encompassing deliverables in all areas fundamental to our mission, with a particular emphasis on investor protection initiatives," said Louis Morisset, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers. "While future deliverables will be highlighted in our upcoming Business Plan for 2016-2019, it is important to acknowledge the impressive body of work completed by the CSA Members' staff working collectively over the past three years."

The CSA Report on Achievements for 2013-2016 This link will open in a new window is available on the websites of the CSA and its various members This link will open in a new window.

The CSA is the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, which co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For more information:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Sylvain Théberge


Alberta Securities Commission

Mark Dickey


British Columbia Securities Commission

Alison Walker


Financial and Consumer Affairs, Saskatchewan

Shannon McMillan


Financial and Consumer Services Commission, New Brunswick

Andrew Nicholson


Manitoba Securities Commission

Jason (Jay) Booth


Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Tanya Wiltshire


Nunavut Securities Office

Jeff Mason


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, Newfoundland and Labrador

John O'Brien


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, Northwest Territories

Tom Hall


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, P.E.I.

Janice Callbeck


Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities

Rhonda Horte


Ontario Securities Commission

Kristen Rose