Canadian securities regulators publish consultation paper on OTC derivatives trading facilities

Securities CSA

Calgary - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today published for comment CSA Consultation Paper 92-401 Derivatives Trading Facilities. The Consultation Paper proposes a framework for regulating facilities that bring together multiple buyers and multiple sellers of over-the counter (OTC) derivatives. The Consultation Paper also proposes that OTC derivatives that meet certain criteria may be required to trade exclusively on such regulated facilities.

"The goal of this proposed framework is to develop rules for OTC derivatives trading in the Canadian market that conform to international commitments," said Bill Rice, Chair of the CSA and Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the Alberta Securities Commission. "In addition to developing harmonized policies and rules for Canada, the proposed framework will align with international practices to the extent appropriate."

The Consultation Paper continues the CSA's work related to the regulatory reform of OTC derivatives, in response to derivatives commitments made by the G20.

The Consultation Paper can be found on CSA members' websites. The comment period is open until March 30, 2015.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For more information:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Sylvain Théberge


Alberta Securities Commission

Mark Dickey


British Columbia Securities Commission

Richard Gilhooley


Financial and Consumer Affairs, Authority of Saskatchewan

Daniela Machuca


Financial and Consumer Services Commission, New Brunswick

Wendy Connors-Beckett


Financial Services Regulation Div., Newfoundland and Labrador

Doug Connolly


Manitoba Securities Commission

Kevan Hannah


Northwest Territories Securities Office

Donn MacDougall


Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Tanya Wiltshire


Nunavut Securities Office

Louis Arki


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, P.E.I.

Janice Callbeck


Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities

Rhonda Horte


Ontario Securities Commission

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington