CSA Securities

Montréal – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) have renewed the term of Jean St-Gelais as Chair of the CSA for one year. Mr. St-Gelais, President and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), has served as CSA Chair since April 2005.

"In the current economic environment, the CSA play a leading role in promoting fair and efficient capital markets for the benefit of all Canadians," said Mr. St-Gelais. "I look forward to continued cooperation with my colleagues from other jurisdictions in our efforts to harmonize and improve the regulation of Canada’s capital markets and to effectively enforce securities legislation."

The term of CSA Vice-Chair Don Murray, Chair of the Manitoba Securities Commission, was also renewed for one year. "We will continue to focus on our fundamental objectives, which are to provide protection to investors and ensure confidence in Canada’s capital markets," said Mr. Murray. "We will remain attentive to current market conditions and public concerns," Mr. Murray added.

CSA members voted to extend the terms of the Chair and Vice-Chair during meetings held in Toronto on March 26 and 27, 2009. The members also renewed the term of David Wilson, Chair of the Ontario Securities Commission, as Chair of the Policy Coordination Committee for one year until March 31, 2010.

The CSA, the council of securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, coordinate and harmonize regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

— 30 —


CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Sylvain Théberge

514 940-2176

Alberta Securities Commission

Mark Dickey

403 297-4481

British Columbia Securities Commission

Andy Poon

604 899-6880

Financial Services Regulation Division, Newfoundland and Labrador

Doug Connolly

709 729-2594

Manitoba Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham

204 945-4733

New Brunswick Securities Commission

Wendy Connors-Beckett

506 643-7745

Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Natalie MacLellan

902 424-8586

Office of the Attorney General, Prince Edward Island

Marc Gallant

902 368-4552

Ontario Securities Commission

Perry Quinton

416 593-2348

Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

Barbara Shourounis

306 787-5842

Securities Office, Northwest Territories

Donn MacDougall

867 920-8984

Securities Office, Nunavut

Louis Arki

867 975-6587

Securities Office, Yukon

Fred Pretorius

867 667-5225