CSA appoints Secretary General

CSA Securities

Montréal –The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA), announced today the appointment of Kim Lachapelle as Secretary General.

Ms. Lachapelle holds a Bachelor of Law degree from the University of Montréal and has been a member of the Québec Bar since 1992. In 1999, she completed an MBA at HEC Montréal. Ms  Lachapelle is also a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators Canada.

Most recently, Ms. Lachapelle served as Corporate Secretary of Jean Coutu Group (PJC) Inc. Previously, she was Corporate Secretary and Legal Counsel at  Inc. and, prior to that, Legal Counsel at LV Conseils Institutionnels, Investor Relations Manager at Eicon Technology and practiced law with Robinson, Sheppard, Shapiro.

As Secretary General, Ms. Lachapelle will be responsible for managing and supervising the activities of the Secretariat. She will also coordinate the implementation of the CSA strategic plan and ensure that the objectives are achieved.

The CSA Secretariat is located in Montréal. The CSA is the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, which coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

— 30 —

For media inquiries:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Sylvain Théberge

514 940-2176

Alberta Securities Commission

Mark Dickey

403 297-4481

British Columbia Securities Commission

Andrew Poon 

604 899-6880

Financial Services Regulation Division, Newfoundland and Labrador

Doug Connolly

709 729-2594

Manitoba Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham

204 945-4733

New Brunswick Securities Commission

Wendy Connors-Beckett

506 643-7745

Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Natalie MacLellan

902 424-8586

Nunavut Securities Registry

Louis Arki

867 975-6587

Ontario Securities Commission

Laurie Gillett

416 595-8913

Prince Edward Island, Office of the Attorney General

Marc Gallant

902 368-4552

Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

Barbara Shourounis

306 787-5842

Securities Registry, Northwest Territories

Donald MacDougall

867 920-8984

Yukon Securities Registry

Fred Pretorius

867 667-5225