Canadian Securities Regulators Publish Discussion Paper on mutual fund fees


Toronto - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today published for comment CSA Discussion Paper 81-407 Mutual Fund Fees, which examines the mutual fund fee structure in Canada and identifies potential investor protection issues arising from that structure. The Discussion Paper sets out various topics for discussion in order to evaluate the appropriate structure for Canada.

Canada's mutual fund fees have been the subject of much debate in recent years. Some research studies examining Canada's mutual fund fees, along with international reforms, have prompted greater interest in reviewing the issue of mutual fund fees in Canada.

"Mutual funds are a key investment in the portfolios of many Canadians," said Bill Rice, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Alberta Securities Commission. "It is important that we look at Canada's mutual fund fee structure carefully in determining what changes could or should be considered to enhance investor protection and foster confidence in our market."

To date, the CSA has focused its efforts on enhancing the transparency of mutual fund fees and commissions through initiatives such as the Point of Sale, and Cost Disclosure and Performance Reporting projects. While these initiatives remain a priority on behalf of investors, the CSA has determined that it is also necessary to consult extensively with investors and market participants to explore whether further issues remain.

The CSA welcomes feedback on the Discussion Paper, which can be found on CSA members' websites. The comment period is open until April 12, 2013. All comments will be considered in the CSA's decision and next steps, and also assist in the development of a roundtable the CSA plans to hold with investors and industry participants in 2013.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

-30 -

For more information:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Sylvain Théberge


Alberta Securities Commission

Mark Dickey


British Columbia Securities Commission

Richard Gilhooney


Financial Services Regulation Div. Newfoundland and Labrador

Doug Connolly


Manitoba Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham


New Brunswick Securities Commission

Wendy Connors-Beckett


Northwest Territories Securities Office

Donn MacDougall


Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Tanya Wiltshire


Nunavut Securities Office

Louis Arki


Ontario Securities Commission

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington


PEI Securities Office, Office of the Attorney General

Janice Callbeck


Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

Dean Murrison


Yukon Securities Registry

Rhonda Horte