Canadian securities regulators provide update on approach to determining director and audit committee member independence

CSA Securities

Montréal – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today published CSA Staff Notice 52-330 Update on CSA Consultation Paper 52-404 Approach to Director and Audit Committee Member Independence. The notice summarizes feedback received during the CSA’s consultation on the approach to determining director and audit committee member independence, and outlines the CSA’s rationale for maintaining the current approach.

"Taking into account the comments we received, as well as the realities of the Canadian market, we have concluded that our approach to determining independence in Canada is appropriate for issuers and that it provides clarity, consistency and predictability for boards and stakeholders," said Louis Morisset, CSA Chair and President and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers.

The CSA received 27 comment letters from various market participants during the consultation period. Most commenters expressed general support for the CSA’s approach to determining director and audit committee member independence.

CSA Staff Notice 52-330 includes a summary of the comments received and can be found on CSA members’ websites.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

— 30 —

For more information:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Alberta Securities Commission

Alison Trollope


Autorité des marchés financiers

Caroline Trottier

418-525-0337# 4115

British Columbia Securities Commission

Andrew Poon


Nunavut Securities Office

Jeff Mason


Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities

Rhonda Horte


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, Northwest Territories

Tom Hall


Financial and Consumer Services Commission, New Brunswick

Sara Wilson


Ontario Securities Commission

Kristen Rose


Manitoba Securities Commission

Jason (Jay) Booth


Financial and Consumer Affairs, Authority of Saskatchewan

Shannon McMillan


Nova Scotia Securities Commission

David Harrison


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, P.E.I.

Steve Dowling


Office of the Superintendent of Securities, Newfoundland and Labrador

Craig Whalen

709 729-2602