Canadian securities regulators modernize rules concerning mutual funds


Toronto - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) announced today the completion of the first phase of its "Modernization Project", which seeks to update the product regulation of publicly offered investment funds.

The purpose of the Project is to modernize investment fund regulation, making it more effective and relevant in today's more diverse and increasingly innovative retail marketplace.

Specifically, the amendments introduced in the first phase recognize the proliferation of Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) and streamline their access to the market by eliminating the need for them to apply for regulatory exemptions. This will reduce regulatory costs, which is also expected to benefit investors. The amendments are also designed to enhance the resilience of money market funds to certain short-term market risks, by introducing new liquidity requirements and term restrictions.

"By modernizing these important investment fund rules, we are responding to the rapidly evolving investment fund landscape, as well as maintaining consistency with global standards," said Bill Rice, Chair of the CSA, and Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the Alberta Securities Commission.

Subject to ministerial approval, the amendments will come into force April 30, 2012. The new requirements for money market funds will come into force following a transition period.

To view the amended rules, please refer to the CSA Notice on National Instrument 81-102 Mutual Funds, which is available on the websites of various CSA members.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

 For more information:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Sylvain Théberge


Alberta Securities Commission

Mark Dickey


British Columbia Securities Commission

Richard Gilhooney


Financial Services Regulation Div. Newfoundland and Labrador

Doug Connolly


Manitoba Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham


New Brunswick Securities Commission

Wendy Connors-Beckett


Northwest Territories Securities Office

Donn MacDougall


Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Shirley Lee


Nunavut Securities Office

Louis Arki


Ontario Securities Commission

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington


PEI Securities Office, Office of the Attorney General

Janice Callbeck


Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

Jennifer Anderson


Yukon Securities Registry

Helena Hrubesova