Canadian securities regulators announce enhanced policy concerning electronic delivery of documents


Vancouver - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today announced the adoption of amendments to National Policy (NP) 11-201 Delivery of Documents by Electronic Means.

The amended policy will replace the current NP 11-201 and will come into force on November 18, 2011 when it will be renamed National Policy 11-201 Electronic Delivery of Documents.

In Québec, NP 11-201 will replace Notice 11-201 related to the Delivery of Documents by Electronic Means.

NP 11-201 explains how Canadian securities legislation obligations for the delivery of documents may be satisfied by electronic means. The amended NP 11-201 takes into account changes in legislation and technology, ensuring the policy remains up-to date.

In drafting the amended policy, the CSA considered a number of submissions that were received during the 60-day comment period (April 29 - June 29, 2011).

To view the amended policy, please refer to the CSA Notice on NP 11-201, which is available on the websites of various CSA members. This link will open in a new window

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For more information:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

Autorité des marchés financiers

Sylvain Théberge


Alberta Securities Commission

Mark Dickey


British Columbia Securities Commission

Richard Gilhooney


Financial Services Regulation Div. Newfoundland and Labrador

Doug Connolly


Manitoba Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham


New Brunswick Securities Commission

Wendy Connors-Beckett


Northwest Territories Securities Office

Donn MacDougall


Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Natalie MacLellan


Nunavut Securities Office

Louis Arki


Ontario Securities Commission

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington


PEI Securities Office, Office of the Attorney General

Janice Callbeck


Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

Jennifer Anderson


Yukon Securities Registry

Graham Lang