Canadian Regulators enter into agreement with CFTC to enhance cross-border supervision



Calgary - The Alberta Securities Commission (ASC), the British Columbia Securities Commission (BCSC), the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC), and the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the U.S Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) aimed at enhancing the cross-border supervision of firms that operate in both countries.

The MOU will facilitate the exchange of information between the regulators in the supervision and oversight of regulated entities that operate on a cross-border basis. The scope of the MOU includes markets and organized trading platforms, central counterparties, trade repositories, and intermediaries, dealers, and other market participants.

Through the MOU, the regulators intend to cooperate in the derivatives and/or securities markets, particularly in the areas of: protecting investors and customers; fostering the integrity of and maintaining confidence in financial markets; and reducing systemic risk.

The MOU was signed by Chairs William Rice (ASC), Brenda Leong (BCSC), Howard Wetston (OSC), Louis Morisset (AMF) and CFTC Acting Chairman Mark Wetjen.

The CSA, the council of securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -

For more information:


Mark Dickey
Alberta Securities Commission

Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers

Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington
Ontario Securities Commission

Richard Gilhooley
British Columbia Securities Commission