CSA Securities

Montreal – The Canadian Securities Administrators has joined the Fraud Prevention Forum to promote March 2006 as Fraud Awareness Month. In doing so, the CSA hopes to increase public awareness about fraud resources available from trusted sources that can help people protect their personal finances and avoid investment frauds and scams.

As a Fraud Prevention Forum partner, the CSA joins more than 75 government and private sector organizations to promote the ongoing national public education and awareness campaign “Recognize It. Report It. Stop It.” Throughout the month of March, partners are involved in a number of national, regional and local activities supporting fraud awareness.

Canadians are encouraged to visit the CSA website at www.securities-administrators.ca This link will open in a new window, to learn more about how to avoid investment fraud. On the site, visitors can take the Investment Fraud Awareness Quiz and view a new Fraud Awareness section. The site also provides access to resources and helpful links to a wealth of other important investing information from the provincial and territorial securities regulators.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, coordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets. Their mandate is to protect investors from unfair or fraudulent practices through regulation of the securities industry. Part of this protection is educating investors about the risk, responsibilities and rewards of investing.

— 30 —

For more information:

CSA member name

Point of contact

Phone number

E-mail

Alberta Securities Commission

Lorinda Brinton

403-297-2665

lorinda.brinton@seccom.ab.ca

Autorité des marchés financiers

Philippe Roy

514-940-2176

--

British Columbia Securities Commission

Alison Walker 

604-899-6713

--

Department of Attorney General, Prince Edward Island

Mark Gallant

902-368-4552

mlgallant@gov.mb.ca

Financial Services Regulation Division, Newfoundland and Labrador

Doug Connolly

709-729-2594

Connolly@gov.nl.ca

Manitoba Securities Commission

Ainsley Cunningham

204-945-4733

aicunningh@gov.mb.ca

New Brunswick. Securities Commission

Natalie Green

506-643-7745

natalie.green@nbsc-cvmnb.ca

Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Chris Pottie

902-424-5393

pottiec@gov.ns.ca

Nunavut Securities Registry

Gary Crowe

867-975-6190

GCrowe@gov.nu.ca

Ontario Securities Commission

Perry Quinton

416-593-2348

pquinton@osc.gov.on.c

Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission

Patti Pacholek

306-787-5871

ppacholek@sfsc.gov.sk.ca

Securities Registry Northwest Territories

Gary MacDougall

867-920-8984

Registrar_SecCorpReg@gov.nt.ca

Yukon Securities Registry

Richard Roberts

867-667-5225

Richard.roberts@gov.yk.c